Page 1 of 2

Ok, the help Superman not be a tard thread

Posted: 2005-02-10 07:37pm
by Superman
Alright, on the board I'm running, I want my admin to be able to display his custom name without just saying the default admin title. Here are the instructions...

THIS

What does this mean and how do I do it?

Posted: 2005-02-10 07:42pm
by Exonerate
Basically, you copy the script into the HTML of the board's footer file. The footer file is the flie that is included at the end of every page on your forum. Just insert the code that's provided.

Modify

Code: Select all

custTitle("admin","Administrator","The Creator")
to your tastes - for example:

Code: Select all

custTitle("Superman","Your Current Title","Your New Desired Title")

Posted: 2005-02-10 07:46pm
by Superman
So I do that in all the pages of the forum, right?

Posted: 2005-02-10 07:48pm
by Exonerate
There should be a file named "footer.php" or something similar - that is the file that is included in each forum page automatically. You just need to insert the code into that page only, and it should work.

Posted: 2005-02-10 08:06pm
by Superman
Ok, thanks... how do I access that footer file?

Posted: 2005-02-10 10:43pm
by Exonerate
Well, I assume that you downloaded the package for the forums and uploaded it via FTP... You'd edit the file on your own computer then upload the modified copy to replace the old one.

Posted: 2005-02-10 11:12pm
by Superman
Ah... ok, that's where I'm stuck. How do I download the package? Also, that ftp thing doesn't open.

Posted: 2005-02-11 03:06am
by Rogue 9
Exonerate wrote:Well, I assume that you downloaded the package for the forums and uploaded it via FTP... You'd edit the file on your own computer then upload the modified copy to replace the old one.
No, he's using Proboards. They provide the board and hosting already in place. He took one on my advice so he wouldn't have to try and run a BBS off of Tripod; was I wrong in recommending that he do so?

Posted: 2005-02-11 04:43am
by General Zod
Rogue 9 wrote:
Exonerate wrote:Well, I assume that you downloaded the package for the forums and uploaded it via FTP... You'd edit the file on your own computer then upload the modified copy to replace the old one.
No, he's using Proboards. They provide the board and hosting already in place. He took one on my advice so he wouldn't have to try and run a BBS off of Tripod; was I wrong in recommending that he do so?
phpbb does offer free hosting on their own servers. all you'd have to do is provide a link from your website to the bbs. a relatively hassle free setup from what i've learned while tinkering with one for awhile.

Posted: 2005-02-11 04:50am
by Rogue 9
Darth_Zod wrote:
Rogue 9 wrote:
Exonerate wrote:Well, I assume that you downloaded the package for the forums and uploaded it via FTP... You'd edit the file on your own computer then upload the modified copy to replace the old one.
No, he's using Proboards. They provide the board and hosting already in place. He took one on my advice so he wouldn't have to try and run a BBS off of Tripod; was I wrong in recommending that he do so?
phpbb does offer free hosting on their own servers. all you'd have to do is provide a link from your website to the bbs. a relatively hassle free setup from what i've learned while tinkering with one for awhile.
Hmmmm. Didn't see such a thing while poking around phpbb.com. That's essentially what Proboards does, only phpBB's moderator options are better. (I like being able to split threads, something that EzBoard and Proboards don't let you do.) However, I like Proboard's superscript, subscript, and table posting codes.

Posted: 2005-02-11 11:23am
by Superman
So do we know what to do? :D :D :D

Posted: 2005-02-11 11:59am
by CDS
You actually pay for your message board because it's much, much better than the other crap ones, and you get a discount for the licence if you host it with the right people

Posted: 2005-02-11 12:35pm
by Superman
CDS wrote:You actually pay for your message board because it's much, much better than the other crap ones, and you get a discount for the licence if you host it with the right people
Yeah, thanks for not answering my question. Look, if things go okay with the one I'm on, then yeah I will. This is my first try ever, so I'm going with free until then. :wink:

Posted: 2005-02-11 12:45pm
by CDS
You're trying to do things with proboards and phpbb which is a lot easier to do if you use the best software that's out there.

Posted: 2005-02-11 12:46pm
by Superman
I'm bookmarking those links you gave me. At some point, I'll probably do that. Thanks for showing me.

Posted: 2005-02-12 05:50pm
by McC
Bah. phpBB has everything you need and if it doesn't, it's not hard to add it in. Paying for web scripts is silly.

Posted: 2005-02-12 08:09pm
by CDS
BbBoards have everything you didn't think you'd need, and if not, either someone's released an unofficial patch for it (yours truly being the main patch coder) or you can hack it yourself - you don't even need to know perl: you can hack it in almost any language (C, perl, php...)

I mean, you never realise how useful functions like simulate user is until you actually use em. Although admittedly, the user interface is a little confusing at first.

Posted: 2005-02-12 08:11pm
by McC
McC wrote:Paying for web scripts is silly.

Posted: 2005-02-13 12:59am
by Rogue 9
Darth_Zod wrote:
Rogue 9 wrote:
Exonerate wrote:Well, I assume that you downloaded the package for the forums and uploaded it via FTP... You'd edit the file on your own computer then upload the modified copy to replace the old one.
No, he's using Proboards. They provide the board and hosting already in place. He took one on my advice so he wouldn't have to try and run a BBS off of Tripod; was I wrong in recommending that he do so?
phpbb does offer free hosting on their own servers. all you'd have to do is provide a link from your website to the bbs. a relatively hassle free setup from what i've learned while tinkering with one for awhile.
Given that the website I used for my Proboards site was my subdomain on Kernel's server, I don't know how well that'd work for phpBB. I could probably rig a way to link to it, though. Put the link in a text document or something and then upload it...

Anywho, thinking about switching to another board host now, after getting paranoid over Proboards' terms of service. It'll be at least a day before I move, so any other suggestions?

Posted: 2005-02-13 07:39am
by CDS
Rogue 9 wrote:
Darth_Zod wrote:
Rogue 9 wrote: No, he's using Proboards. They provide the board and hosting already in place. He took one on my advice so he wouldn't have to try and run a BBS off of Tripod; was I wrong in recommending that he do so?
phpbb does offer free hosting on their own servers. all you'd have to do is provide a link from your website to the bbs. a relatively hassle free setup from what i've learned while tinkering with one for awhile.
Given that the website I used for my Proboards site was my subdomain on Kernel's server, I don't know how well that'd work for phpBB. I could probably rig a way to link to it, though. Put the link in a text document or something and then upload it...

Anywho, thinking about switching to another board host now, after getting paranoid over Proboards' terms of service. It'll be at least a day before I move, so any other suggestions?
Best Boards all the way

Posted: 2005-02-13 08:13am
by Rogue 9
CDS wrote:
Rogue 9 wrote:
Darth_Zod wrote: phpbb does offer free hosting on their own servers. all you'd have to do is provide a link from your website to the bbs. a relatively hassle free setup from what i've learned while tinkering with one for awhile.
Given that the website I used for my Proboards site was my subdomain on Kernel's server, I don't know how well that'd work for phpBB. I could probably rig a way to link to it, though. Put the link in a text document or something and then upload it...

Anywho, thinking about switching to another board host now, after getting paranoid over Proboards' terms of service. It'll be at least a day before I move, so any other suggestions?
Best Boards all the way
Your Link wrote:Not Found
The requested URL /bbboard.php was not found on this server.
:P

Posted: 2005-02-13 08:59am
by CDS

Posted: 2005-02-13 12:01pm
by phongn
CDS, you are treading on a fine line by going into threads and suddenly posting "use this!" instead of giving more constructive help. At the very least you could list out the advantages to using your alternative solution and why a person should switch to it.

Posted: 2005-02-13 01:28pm
by CDS
phongn wrote:CDS, you are treading on a fine line by going into threads and suddenly posting "use this!" instead of giving more constructive help. At the very least you could list out the advantages to using your alternative solution and why a person should switch to it.
I'm saying it because in my opinion thats an easier and better way of doing things. Why should people use BbBoards? Because it's easier to configure and has much more options than the vastly inferior phpBB will ever have. Why use linux? Because it's actually an OS.

Posted: 2005-02-13 02:23pm
by phongn
CDS wrote:I'm saying it because in my opinion thats an easier and better way of doing things. Why should people use BbBoards? Because it's easier to configure and has much more options than the vastly inferior phpBB will ever have. Why use linux? Because it's actually an OS.
"Easier to configure" and "has much more options" are not meaningful statements. You described phpBB as "vastly inferior" without saying why. I told you before, you are expected to defend your assertions on this board. Furthermore, you earlier posting on recommending bbBoard and an service provider bordered on spamming.