Page 1 of 1

Rainbow Rails for Quake 4, and Useful Cvars 'n Shit!

Posted: 2005-11-24 05:05am
by Einhander Sn0m4n
I'm looking to convert my Q3 Rail Rainbow script to run on Quake 4.

Code: Select all

//Rail Rainbow (Yes, this one works, as the <-gLu-> PeepZ know. :D )

set d1 "set color1 1; set color2 3; set changecolor vstr d2"
set d2 "set color1 3; set color2 2; set changecolor vstr d3"
set d3 "set color1 2; set color2 4; set changecolor vstr d4"
set d4 "set color1 4; set color2 6; set changecolor vstr d5"
set d5 "set color1 6; set color2 5; set changecolor vstr d6"
set d6 "set color1 5; set color2 7; set changecolor vstr d7"
set d7 "set color1 7; set color2 1; set changecolor vstr d1"

set changecolor "vstr d1"

bind mouse1 "+attack; vstr changecolor"
Apparently the Q4 engine uses HSV colorspace instead of assigning a color to a number..

I'm thinking something maybe like

Code: Select all

set d1 "set ui_HitScantint 0 1 1; set changecolor vstr d2" //bright red
set d2 "set ui_HitScantint 30 1 1; set changecolor vstr d3" //b. orange
set d3 "set ui_HitScantint 60 1 1; set changecolor vstr d4" //yellow
set d4 "set ui_HitScantint 90 1 1; set changecolor vstr d5" //yellow green
set d5 "set ui_HitScantint 120 1 1; set changecolor vstr d6" //bright green
set d6 "set ui_HitScantint 150 1 1; set changecolor vstr d7" //greener-than-cyan
set d7 "set ui_HitScantint 180 1 1; set changecolor vstr d8" //cyan
set d8 "set ui_HitScantint 210 1 1; set changecolor vstr d9" // darksky blue
set d9 "set ui_HitScantint 240 1 1; set changecolor vstr d10" //pure blue
set d10 "set ui_HitScantint 270 1 1; set changecolor vstr d11" //bluepurple
set d11 "set ui_HitScantint 300 1 1; set changecolor vstr d12" //magenta purple
set d12 "set ui_HitScantint 330 1 1; set changecolor vstr d1" //redpurple

set changecolor "vstr d1"

bind mouse1 "+attack; vstr changecolor"
And yes, right here is the first place this code was written. :) So, how 'bout the Rainbow Rails Script? Also, anyone else with Q4 got any useful cvars 'n shit to post?

Posted: 2005-11-24 08:30am
by Admiral Valdemar
Tsk, bad physics, Ein. Railguns have no vapour trail. :P

Posted: 2005-11-24 02:18pm
by Einhander Sn0m4n
Admiral Valdemar wrote:Tsk, bad physics, Ein. Railguns have no vapour trail. :P
Gegh, I already know. This is Quake, not Real Life :teeth:

Posted: 2005-11-24 06:44pm
by Einhander Sn0m4n
Well crap, the code didn't work.

I need more knowledge of Quake 4's cvars...


Edit: 'dode'? WTF!

Posted: 2005-11-24 07:17pm
by Tasoth
Admiral Valdemar wrote:Tsk, bad physics, Ein. Railguns have no vapour trail. :P
Do railgun rounds burn off mass from air friction?

Posted: 2005-11-24 08:12pm
by Admiral Valdemar
Tasoth wrote:Do railgun rounds burn off mass from air friction?
Yes, if going sufficiently fast like a couple of klicks/second. But that only makes a self-illuminating tracer round, not a vapour trail like you see in the movie Eraser which is Hollywood eye candy.

Posted: 2005-11-24 09:10pm
by Einhander Sn0m4n
Tried this

Code: Select all

// clown gun 2.0

set ua_clownGun "ui_hitscanTint 0 0.9 1; wait 10; ui_hitscanTint 30 0.9 1; wait 10; ui_hitscanTint 60 0.9 1; wait 10; ui_hitscanTint 90 0.9 1; wait 10; ui_hitscanTint 120 0.9 1; wait 10; ui_hitscanTint 150 0.9 1; wait 10; ui_hitscanTint 180 0.9 1; wait 10; ui_hitscanTint 210 0.9 1; wait 10; ui_hitscanTint 240 0.9 1; wait 10; ui_hitscanTint 270 0.9 1; wait 10; ui_hitscanTint 300 0.9 1; wait 10; ui_hitscanTint 330 0.9 1; wait 10; vstr ua_fancyRails"
set ua_clownOff "ui_hitscanTint 9 4 2; vstr ua_fancyRails"

bind "KP_MINUS" "set ua_fancyRails 'vstr ua_clownGun'; vstr ua_fancyRails"
bind "KP_PLUS" "set ua_fancyRails 'vstr ua_clownOff'; vstr ua_fancyRails" 
but Quake froze solid when I activated it...

Posted: 2005-11-25 12:15am
by Crossroads Inc.
I don't suppose you have a screen cap from your Quake-3 Rainbow gun? Would love to see it :D