A good UFO report

SLAM: debunk creationism, pseudoscience, and superstitions. Discuss logic and morality.

Moderator: Alyrium Denryle

KhyronTheBackstabber
Jedi Council Member

A good UFO report

Post by KhyronTheBackstabber »

Check out this report for a day time UFO sighting.
http://www.rense.com/general29/astn.htm

What do you think.
MM's Zentraedi Warlord/CF's Original Predacon/JL's Mad Titan
Nick
Jedi Knight

Re: A good UFO report

Post by Nick »

KhyronTheBackstabber wrote: What do you think.
"Name withheld by request"
Bad start - no way to check reliability of source.

"No evidence of digital tampering"
The main problem I have with this statement is the first two pictures. With the way the focus is in those pictures, that camera must have an extraordinary depth of field. I'm not a photography expert, so I'd be very interested in seeing what a reliable professional had to say about those shots.

"Did anyone else see it? No."
Yet another black mark. Amazing coincidence no-one else was looking up at the time.

Opinion:
I suspect deliberate fakery, either by throwing a silvery object around (gets around the sharp focus, and apparent speed problems because it is a small, near, slow-moving object, rather than a large, distant, fast-moving object), or by playing with an image manipulation program like Photoshop or the GIMP.

The UFO people should be concerned about the prevalence of digital image maipulation programs these days - unless a large number of credible sources all agree on a sighting (i.e. news crews and professional photographers all seeing the same thing), then it is going to be dismissed as fakery by someone either tweaking the nose of the UFO twits ("Hey, you know that image you've all been going gaga over? Well, I created it on my PC in 20 minutes!"), or else a misguided enthusiast manufacturing evidence for their own cause.