Telnet Coding

GEC: Discuss gaming, computers and electronics and venture into the bizarre world of STGODs.

Moderator: Thanas

Post Reply
User avatar
Kitsune
Sith Devotee
Posts: 3412
Joined: 2003-04-05 10:52pm
Location: Foxes Den
Contact:

Telnet Coding

Post by Kitsune »

I have no experience with Telnet and I am hoping to get a little help

First, does someone know a website I can get basic instructions on how to use telnet? My understanding is that cgi-bin files are setup using telnet?

Second, I have the code for a program to switch between images on my website. What woudl be the commands I would need to set it up using telnet?
"He that would make his own liberty secure must guard even his enemy from oppression; for if he violates this duty, he establishes a precedent that will reach to himself."
Thomas Paine

"For the living know that they shall die: but the dead know not any thing, neither have they any more a reward; for the memory of them is forgotten."
Ecclesiastes 9:5 (KJV)
User avatar
Crayz9000
Sith Apprentice
Posts: 7329
Joined: 2002-07-03 06:39pm
Location: Improbably superpositioned
Contact:

Post by Crayz9000 »

1. Whatever website provider you're using, it should not use Telnet for shell access. It should use ssh, which encrypts the session (Telnet sends everything, password included, as clear text). PuTTY is one SSH client for Windows.

2. Telnet commands depend on what operating system the hosting provider uses. If it's *nix, then you have to obey the POSIX standards (forward instead of backslashes for folders, etc) and learn the syntax of whatever shell you're given. If it's Windows, then the commands are DOS.

As for setting up CGI scripts, I haven't tried them so I don't know how they are set up.
A Tribute to Stupidity: The Robert Scott Anderson Archive (currently offline)
John Hansen - Slightly Insane Bounty Hunter - ASVS Vets' Assoc. Class of 2000
HAB Cryptanalyst | WG - Intergalactic Alliance and Spoof Author | BotM | Cybertron | SCEF
User avatar
sketerpot
Jedi Council Member
Posts: 1723
Joined: 2004-03-06 12:40pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: Telnet Coding

Post by sketerpot »

Kitsune wrote:First, does someone know a website I can get basic instructions on how to use telnet? My understanding is that cgi-bin files are setup using telnet?
If you have telnet installed, just go to the command line and type "telnet hostname", where hostname is the name of the computer you're connecting to. Telnet does nothing more or less than opening a raw connection to another computer. With telnet, if you know what to type, you can download web pages by pretending to be a web browser; that's how general it is. In this case, however, chances are you'll just be prompted for username and password and be presented with a command line.

On a UNIX machine, cgi-bin files generally just have to me moved into the appropriate directory (try the mv command), and made executable ("chmod +x filename"). Get more details of the specific setup and read the manual; I really couldn't tell you more without phychic powers.
Second, I have the code for a program to switch between images on my website. What woudl be the commands I would need to set it up using telnet?
What language? What code? What web server, running on what OS?

I'm sorry I can't be more helpful, but Telnet really doesn't do much. It's just a communications program, and an extremely primitive one at that.
User avatar
Pu-239
Sith Marauder
Posts: 4727
Joined: 2002-10-21 08:44am
Location: Fake Virginia

Post by Pu-239 »

cgi-bin files should go under the designated cgi-bin folder, then have permissions set by doing "chmod 755 [filename]"

ah.....the path to happiness is revision of dreams and not fulfillment... -SWPIGWANG
Sufficient Googling is indistinguishable from knowledge -somebody
Anything worth the cost of a missile, which can be located on the battlefield, will be shot at with missiles. If the US military is involved, then things, which are not worth the cost if a missile will also be shot at with missiles. -Sea Skimmer


George Bush makes freedom sound like a giant robot that breaks down a lot. -Darth Raptor
User avatar
Kitsune
Sith Devotee
Posts: 3412
Joined: 2003-04-05 10:52pm
Location: Foxes Den
Contact:

Post by Kitsune »

how would I move a file to the cgi-bin directory from my computer using telnet or should I not need to an can use FTP to move the file from my computer?
"He that would make his own liberty secure must guard even his enemy from oppression; for if he violates this duty, he establishes a precedent that will reach to himself."
Thomas Paine

"For the living know that they shall die: but the dead know not any thing, neither have they any more a reward; for the memory of them is forgotten."
Ecclesiastes 9:5 (KJV)
User avatar
Durandal
Bile-Driven Hate Machine
Posts: 17927
Joined: 2002-07-03 06:26pm
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Contact:

Post by Durandal »

Whoever is running the server, tell him to get with the 21st century and install an SSH server. That server's practically begging to be hacked.
Damien Sorresso

"Ever see what them computa bitchez do to numbas? It ain't natural. Numbas ain't supposed to be code, they supposed to quantify shit."
- The Onion
User avatar
Pu-239
Sith Marauder
Posts: 4727
Joined: 2002-10-21 08:44am
Location: Fake Virginia

Post by Pu-239 »

Google for winSCP for uploading files.

ah.....the path to happiness is revision of dreams and not fulfillment... -SWPIGWANG
Sufficient Googling is indistinguishable from knowledge -somebody
Anything worth the cost of a missile, which can be located on the battlefield, will be shot at with missiles. If the US military is involved, then things, which are not worth the cost if a missile will also be shot at with missiles. -Sea Skimmer


George Bush makes freedom sound like a giant robot that breaks down a lot. -Darth Raptor
Post Reply